PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

iajaffe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 10, 2010
I have been walking around Hong Kong and China the last week...lunting, like you do.....and I have been stared at like the bearded lady. Now, I grant that I am at least 6" taller than anyone and I have red hair, but it is the pipe that causes the ruckus. People stare at me like they have never seen a person smoke a pipe before. And then a coworker (local) confirmed that he had never seen a pipe before; let alone a westerner smoking one.
As if I didn't stick out enough?

kiel

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 27, 2016
People love to look at "Westerners" in China. When I first arrived I could feel everybody's eyes on me, but after 8 years I hardly notice anymore.
What parts of China are you visiting?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Well now, I think there's more going on than meets the eye. I have been to Hong Kong once, but I'm no area expert. Yes, the Chinese do notice Westerners, although Hong Kong as a former British Crown Colony isn't exactly virgin territory. Pipes are not common, so yes, there is a sideshow effect with that, plus a tall red-headed guy smoking one. There's another undercurrent. The Brits imposed the opium trade on the Chinese even engaging in the opium wars to enforce their market for opium in China. The Chinese were humiliated and still are horrified by this intrusion by a foreign drug cartel. So though a tobacco pipe is not an opium pipe, I think to the long memory of the Chinese people, especially Hong Kong people who are not so regimented and isolated from open historical discussion, being a port city, and still being burdened with levels of addiction and drug trade, a pipe might not be an altogether happy sight.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Hell, I also get stared at a lot here in the U.S. while sitting on my front porch smoking a pipe.