PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

AKinser79

Might Stick Around
Aug 3, 2021
Central Florida
And so I continue my Amphora series. Amphora Full Aroma is an aromatic blend produced by Mac Baren, and is obviously part of the Amphora family (See my reviews of the English, Burley and Virginia blends--and there are upcoming reviews for this family). Like the other Amphora blends (except the English) it is a ribbon cut that appears to have been pressed into a cake at some point. Pouch note strongly reminds me of dark fruit and perhaps chocolate--dollar store chocolate.

According to the packaging the following tobaccos are used: Burley, Dark Fired Kentucky, Virginia. The flavoring is supposedly fruit and chocolate.

First let me preface this by saying I don't usually smoke aromatics. I did smoke a lot of aromatics when I was a novice smoker but I never truly loved them and they have a tendency to cause tongue bite for me. So coming in I know I have bias against aros in general. I must say that I was somewhat pleasantly surprised by this blend. The room note is actually considered pleasant by others--I asked, I usually don't--however the first char and third of a bowl tastes bity and hot to me. I'm not a fan. However, delayed gratification is your friend here because if you burn off whatever nasty concoction Mac Baren is using to cover up the flavor of the otherwise quality Virginia, Dark Fired Kentucky and Burly gets burned off it is slightly sweet tasting, and rather pleasant in a middle of the road sort of way.