PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Nhassey48

Lurker
Sep 21, 2020
Edwards, CA
So as a new pipe smoker I see a lot of people recommending corn cob pipes for a cheap alternative to see if you like the hobby. I also see them as people having some as a change up of normal briar pipes. Having been smoking nothing but cobs the past months, I smoked a briar for the first time and actually did NOT enjoy it. The flavor was not what I was used to.
My question is, is it just because I’m new to pipe smoking or is it an actual thing to prefer corn cobs all the time? Does preferring the corn cob pipe experience, flavor and price make me a shmuck? I would be interested to hear if there are any people here who mostly smoke corn cobs.
Last thing I will add, I do
Enjoy this as a hobby and not just for utilitarian purposes. But it seems like briar pipes are the “end goal” of every pipe smoker.
Thanks

Last edited:

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
On a serious note, flavour is a highly subjective thing. Yes, it's possible you got too used to a given instrument and now anything else tastes odd. Like drinking nothing but gin and then having tequila and going pfui!

Taste also depends on other factors besides the tool: which blend, types of tobacco, environmental factors, even cleanliness of the pipe (cake? ugh!).

You need to get acquainted with good briar pipes and get used to differences in taste, not just among pipes but also among blends. Some genres just taste better in a cob, apparently. They say that cobs are just the thing for burleys, whereas I've hear that latakia sings in a morta pipe.

Up to you: If you're content to smoke nothing but cobs and just can't stand briar, then just smoke nothing but cobs.

02Knight

Can't Leave
Aug 24, 2020
Rockett, Texas. South of DFW Metroplex