PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

romaso

Lifer
Dec 29, 2010
Pacific NW
Thanks for posting this! And thanks for posting the link to the original chart because I couldn't read the one above without doubling up my reading glasses.

The Sutliff 515 RC-1 for McClelland 5100 is spot on, the closest I've found by far.

Wish they had something listed for McClelland Deep Hollow, haven't found anything close to that.

DanWil84

Lifer
Mar 8, 2021
The Netherlands (Europe)
I'm no expert in tobacco connaisseurism, but IMHO what is gone can not be replaced and I honestly think other companies should never try it. The Peterson listed as replacement of Dunhill are not replacements but completely the same.

I've smoked McConnell Highgate from a sample and I enjoyed that, but can not be matched to what it should have been as I never smoked it. Still that would not be a criteria why I would buy it.

Duck

Can't Leave
Aug 28, 2021
Edinburgh
For me, the best replacement for Balkan Sobranie is SG Skiff Mixture. It scratches all the same itches for me. Others might find otherwise, it's not Balkan Sobranie and what they enjoyed in the original may not be there in Skiff. That said, I can't imagine some of these alternatives scratching anyone's itches for the originals.

Toast

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 15, 2021
UK
Weird that the Charatan (I think Orlik in the US) Dunhill replacements aren't on the list. Some are actually pretty decent.

Never had the original, but I'm getting through their Virginia Three Year Matured at a rate of knots. Really liking the touch of Oriental in it.

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
Weird that the Charatan (I think Orlik in the US) Dunhill replacements aren't on the list. Some are actually pretty decent.

Never had the original, but I'm getting through their Virginia Three Year Matured at a rate of knots. Really liking the touch of Oriental in it.
I believe they are the same as the McConnell blends sold here

Reactions: Toast

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA