SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jun 23, 2021
Hello! I'm a novice and I have a question, I'm sorry in advance if it is not worded up to standard.

I have these two pipes that are nearly identical in bowl shapes and wall thickness, and up until a point they were smoking equally well. I then had a not the brightest idea of trying some poor quality tobacco in one of them, and it feels like it has ruined it (though for all I know it may be unrelated). The walls instantly grow hot and the smoke is never cool or of normal flavour. It will be quite troublesome to try to describe it, but it almost feels second-hand, as if I'm attempting to smoke moistened ash. The chamber appears to be without damage beyond of what the other pipe I mentioned has suffered.

I have tried routine cleaning, lighter packing (almost to the point of not being able to light), tighter packing, reaming, salt-and-alcohol cleaning (however poorly I might have done it). The pipe has been drying for at least 4 days, but the issue still persists.

A third pipe I have has the same issue, but it is an estate, slightly drilled out it appears, its walls are almost twice thinner and I have no idea what to make of that, to be perfectly honest.

Questions are, then, these: Could a half-bowl of overly wet (with dubious liquids) tobacco have caused that? If not, what could have? What can I try?
Thank you for your attention, I'm ready to clarify what I may.

Reactions: germinal

karam

Lifer
Feb 2, 2019
Basel, Switzerland
I'd say it is the tobacco, not the pipe. Some tobaccos burn hotter than others in the same pipes. Is it an aromatic? Is it an OTC aromatic?