PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Mab

Lurker
Apr 14, 2021
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hi all,
I‘m new to the forum so please go easy on me and forgive me if this has already been discussed but I wonder if anyone can help me to see if I am doing something wrong.

I am relatively new to pipe smoking (approx 18months) and I am still exploring, trying to find a tobacco that I like. I read all the customer reviews before I buy and they talk about a hint of this or a taste of that and some of them sound amazing so I buy them but every time I end up smoking something that just tastes of nothing.

I do all things recommended. I have tried packing a little tighter, packing a bit looser, doing the false light, not doing the false light, holding the smoke in my mouth, passing it through my nose (I think it’s called a french inhale?)

I had a little success with Killarney tobacco, which tasted amazing for about two bowls then went the same way. I have both filtered and non filtered pipes but if I am honest I am starting to lose hope.

Can anyone suggest where I might be going wrong or a tobacco I might have success with bearing in mind I am in the UK and some might be hard to come by.

Thanks guys and sorry for the ramble.

Last edited by a moderator:

philobeddoe

Lifer
Oct 31, 2011
East Indiana
Hello Mab, welcome to the forum. I can recommend several things to try, before you give up the pipe. First, make sure your tobacco is dry enough, pipe tobacco is often much too moist from the tin or packet. Try filling your bowl, then dumping that tobacco out into a small saucer and letting it air dry for 30 minutes or so. The tobacco should fall apart when bunched with your fingers, if it clumps up, it’s too moist.