All About Indian Food Home Edition

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

When I cook at home by definition it is Indian food 😊. I have become quite lazy and don’t cook often any more. When I cooked frequently I was an excellent cook, but I have lost a lot of that skill, since I don’t practice any more.

1. To OP - Coconut oil is used only in 1 state of India (Kerala) so it is extremely regional Indian oil, but if you like it, go for it! Ghee is is good choice but premium. For a more regular oil you can use Canola or Olive Oil
2. Restaurants in USA in general produce exceptionally bad Indian food. I can give an easy tip to cook it better than them! If you are preparing any common restaurant recipe … first marinate the chicken in either a white sauce (Rashmi Kebab) or a red sauce (Tikka Kebab). Then grill it in the skewers to produce a bit of a Maillard reaction. Then follow the rest of the recipe. Using Kebabs make the recipe at least ten times delicious even if you screw up the gravy. Indian restaurants in India always follow this method, but I have no idea why Indian restaurants in US don’t - possibly for the double labor

I can recommend a few Indian restaurants which are better

1. Rasika in Washington DC has the best Indian food overall (What I tasted)
2. I used to like Utsav in midtown Manhattan - Not visited there for many years
3. Jackson Heights in Queens have Bangladeshi groceries with small food counters. Those food counters serve quite authentic food if you can tolerate it.
4. In middlesex county in NJ has a lot of Indian and Pakistani restaurants- Some better than others. I can recommend Gulberg Bistro (Excellent Pakistani food), Rose (Newly opened - Indian Chinese food). However there are many, and a lot of them somewhat authentic

Jul 26, 2021
Metro-Detroit