PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

HitchensDog

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 22, 2020
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Forgive me if this is a question that may have been answered or addressed earlier. I've been smoking pipes and cigars for roughly 25 years or so. Recently, a friend quit smoking cigars. He had a handful of premium cigars that he gave me. These cigars are bone dry and about 20 - 25 years old. Are these too old to recover? What I mean is, I know I can rehydrate them, but is it worth it? Do cigars lose something with that much age? I'm quite familiar with that process with pipe tobacco, but have no clue with cigars. Any thoughts and suggestions are appreciated.

I have as buddy here who, in a case similar to yours, inherited a whole milk crate full of dried up cigars. Like it was over five pounds of dry cigars. He rehydrated them all, and said some were still tasty, some not so much, but he smoked them and enjoyed the experiment. I had a few of them, and not knowing the differences, I enjoyed them. I mean, if you are expecting to know what a such and such is going to taste like, and anything "off" would ruin your day, maybe pass them off to someone less knowledgeable.
I really enjoy not knowing jackshit about cigars, because I can enjoy more variety and serendipity than a seasoned encyclopedia of cigars. puffy

HitchensDog

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 22, 2020
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
I have as buddy who here, in a case similar to yours, inherited a whole milk crate full of dried up cigars. Like it was over five pounds of dry cigars. He rehydrated them all, and said some were still tasty, some not so much, but he smoked them and enjoyed the experiment. I had a few of them, and not knowing the differences, I enjoyed them. I mean, if you are expecting to know what a such and such is going to taste like, and anything "off" would ruin your day, maybe pass them off to someone less knowledgeable.