Adventures in Ridiculousness- My First Meer!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
Arrgh! :mrgreen:
meer1-550x600.jpg

meer2-600x450.jpg

LINK
jay-roger.jpg

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
Just closed the auction. Gotta wait for the postal service to bring it... :?
Any way to tell if it's carved or pressed by looking?
jay-roger.jpg

bnichols23

Lifer
Mar 13, 2018
SC Piedmont
Strictly a guess zooming in on the droid, but looks carved to me. I'm no expert on whether pressed 'schaum can be successfully carved intricately or not, though. Looks spiffy!

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
How does the moisture test work?
For the price I surely won't gripe either way, just curious.
If anyone recognizes any identifying features please enlighten me. (origin, maker, material, etc)
jay-roger.jpg

bassbug

Lifer
Dec 29, 2016
Lick your finger and touch it to the inside of the bowl. If it's sticky, you have block meerschaum

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Do you know if it has a screw-in or push bit? Does it have a case? If it was a good deal, it's a way to wade into Meerschaum if you haven't before. I sense that it is tricky to know fair prices when you are willing to pay a little more. Some retailers just charge more. My taste for the macabre has faded since adolescence, but as skulls go, that's a good one. Alas, poor Yorik. You need to fish out that speech from Hamlet, the graveyard scene, while holding the skull facing you. It would really wake up the pipe club.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
No case was mentioned and unsure of tenon type. It's unused and $25, so I feel it's hard to lose on this deal. The fact that the seller is not a "pipe guy" also makes it a bit of a wild card. Could be really nice or really bad...