PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
I've enjoyed my years here on the Pipes Magazine Forum and as a way of giving back, offer this guide to getting the best pipe smoking experience, based on my 50 years of practice. There are a lot of myths associated with the hobby that can keep you from finding your bliss and I will offer these observations based on my 50 years of pipe smoking. Did I mention that I've been smoking pipes for 50 years?

1. Grain matters. Don't allow anyone to tell you differently. Oh, some might be tempted to console you about the ugly pathetic pipe you just bought, but I won't. People say you can't smoke grain. That's ridiculous. Toss any pipe in the fire and it will smoke.

2. Big Names matter. That's right. If you don't have a collection of Big Name carvers you will be smoking inferior crappy pipes. It's that simple. It's especially important to start with Big Names, far more important than having developed any technique. Your bowl of "Whatsis" will taste MUCH better when smoked in a pipe made by a Big Name.

3. Technique doesn't matter. 'nuff said. Except that people who talk about the importance of developing a technique are clowns. They're just trying to build themselves up as better and more knowledgeable than you, the snobs.

4. Price is important. No pipe under $1500 is worth spit. Sorry, but that's absolutely true, based on my 50 years of smoking pipes. And, I'm being generous here. You should really not be caught dead smoking a pipe that cost less than $5000. We will mock you.

5. Drying your tobacco is unnecessary. Wet tobacco not only smokes better, it gives you a greater challenge, and who doesn't like challenges? Tobacco is always at its optimal smoking moisture straight out of the tin. If it doesn't feel wet, dump some water on it. The wetter the tobacco, the more flavor it will have. For something truly unforgettable, use toilet water.