Is Rustication An Iconic Future Of Italian Pipes?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Celius

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 17, 2019
When I am thinking of an iconic Italian pipe, I always imagine an rusticated one (like a Castello Searock or Ser Jacopo R1), similar to when I am thinking about an iconic English pipe, I imagine a smooth one (Dunhill bruyere for example).

Is there truth to it, or is it only me?

crawdad

Lifer
Jul 19, 2019
Virginia
I don’t think so IMHO. It may be that you are aesthetically drawn to rusticated pipes that happen to be made by Italian manufacturers. The above referenced Castello and Ser Jacopo brands you mention have as many smooth pipe models available as the rusticated ones. I think the styling and shape of the pipe itself give it a more influence by country than its texture, with the Danish and French jumping to my mind.

But I’m no expert. I’m just whiling away the time drinking coffee trying to wake up. I’ll let those with better mental fortitude in the AM tackle this one.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Rustication is the last thing I would think of as iconic. Usually used to cover a pit or lack of grain. Italy is good for varying traditional shapes with a more airy, sweeping design.

Reactions: kurtbob and jpmcwjr
The Italians do seem to have the best rustication, as in Savinelli's Corallo rustication of the 60's and 70's. Other area's rustication attempts just look "hacked" or "forced" to me.

All areas seem to have nice smooth pipes, but some may have better grain chasers than others. The classic Danes come to mind.

I'm not sure who would have the best blasts, except maybe US artisans.

I'm not sure about the use of the word "iconic." Maybe... when one is enmeshed in the hobby, it is harder to see what is iconic, from the inside out.

sasquatch

Lifer
Jul 16, 2012