PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

punkrockarmy

Might Stick Around
Jan 13, 2013
While going through some old stuff I came across a 1972 Zippo lighter that belonged to my Pappaw with his initials engraved on the case. It needs a wick and a flint along with fluid and felt pads but all this shouldn't be too much trouble. I have seen online that there are special Zippo inserts for lighting pipes but I was wondering if one could light a pipe with a regular insert? Thanks in advance.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
I don't recommend using a Zippo at all. Lighter fluid will impart a distinct flavor that butane and matches do not. I'd say to save it as a keepsake but never use it to light anything you're smoking.

kb7get

Lurker
Nov 10, 2012
Yes, they work fine for it. I have been using them for over 40 years to light my pipes.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
I don't use my zippo much except when I go fishing and camping. The zippo is great in windy or cold weather. Nothing is more frustrating than trying to light your pipe in the wind. The zippo comes through like a champ.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
You can send it to the Zippo manufacturer and they will refurb it, and if you request the pipe insert they will send one with it... for the best possible price... free.

ace57

Lifer
Jun 21, 2011
Zippo's work just fine, that's all I use and yes you can use a plain Zippo to light your pipe but like Rothnh said send it in for the pipe insert it will work better for lighting your pipe.

aristokles

Can't Leave
Jan 18, 2011
I'm a dedicated standard Zippo user. I have ever tried the pipe chimney and just keep the wick a tad longer. Matches do do a better job than any lighter but I've not figured one-handed match technique out.

brdavidson

Lifer
Dec 30, 2012