PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 15, 2011
For all you guys that use Zippo lighters on a regular basis: Do any of you guys have any trouble lighting the last bits of your pipe bowl with a Zippo, especially on your larger pipes? I have really started to like the reliability and the way that the Zippo lights when I need a lighter, but getting down to the bottom of some of my larger pipes has been met with mixed results. So do you guys have this problem, and if you have/had this problem, any tips or tricks to rectify the dilemma? Any advice would be appreciated.

rosney

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 12, 2012
Im no expert, but I do use a zippo on a regular basis. Its the regular zippo, not the kind modified for a pipe. If I am having a hard time getting a flame to the bottom sometimes I angle the pipe and lighter so its more a side pull than trying to pull it down. I dont know if that makes any sense but its the only way I could think to describe it. Another thing I noticed is when I am trying to pull the flame a long ways I tend to blow out my nose a little which effects that tall yellow flame you need to get it to the bottom of the bowl. Maybe keep an eye on that. Hope this helps some.
Jake

cmkiefer

Lurker
Sep 7, 2012
Ontonagon, MI
I use the Zippo with the pipe chimney. If that's what you've got, make sure the chimney is flat against the rim of your pipe. This will help with the deeper draw. Also make sure you're wick is adjusted properly for plenty of flame. Should basically fill (lengthwise) the opening in the chimney.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
I also own a zippo pipe lighter. This and a slight taste problem from the lighter fluid are the lighters drawbacks. I usually switch to a butane lighter or matches for the bottom of the bowl.

cmkiefer

Lurker
Sep 7, 2012
Ontonagon, MI