PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

lotechjoe

Lurker
Mar 25, 2016
When I smoked cigarettes, (I quit them in '98) I usually carried a Zippo. I liked it for what it accomplished but if I ever accidentally over filled it, it would leave a red burn mark on my leg where it leaked through my pants pocket. I'm considering getting another Zippo and would be careful not to overfill it. But I'm wondering if anyone here has any other negative issues with Zippos. I've heard that some don't like the taste of lighter fluid in their light-up, but I don't think that would be an issue with me.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
I've been using a Zippo pipe lighter for many years. It never fails and I don't notice the taste of the fluid. I let the flame go for a few seconds and then I'm good to light.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
The only time In use my zippo pipe lighter is when there is a serious wind when I am smoking outdoors. I am not a fan of the flame as it is hard to control around a pipe.
I used to burn my leg quite often as a kid hated the feeling.

stvalentine

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 13, 2015
Northern Germany
As it seems you will love the Zippo or you will hate it. I was a big fan of Zippos when I was still smoking cigarettes but it didn't work for me with the pipe. A butane flame seems to light the tobacco much faster and in a more controlled way. Guess it will have to go into the electronic bay soon...

ophiuchus

Lifer
Mar 25, 2016
I prefer matches indoors, but outdoors (and relights) the Zippo is a reliable taskmaster. If you let the flame burn for a second or two after striking, the fluid doesn't affect flavor significantly. The flame isn't so hot that rim scorching isn't an issue. (I'm aware plenty of pipe smokers have success with an array of butanes; I'm a little too clumsy for them myself.)

jazz

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 17, 2014
UK