PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bodubya

Lurker
Sep 16, 2013
First post - greetings everyone. I have a question for the group.
I'm fairly new to pipe smoking (6 months or so) and have slowly accumulated a good number of tobacco's that I rotate through. I kept them in the original baggies that I received them in (except for the tinned tobacco's, they are still tinned). For a gift my wife bought me a nice wood and leather box to store the tobacco and my pipe. The box had a strong scent of dye or stain, so I polyurethaned the inside and let it cure for several weeks. After this, the scent inside the box was nearly gone, so I thought it was safe to store everything in there...
After a couple weeks I noticed that the outside of the baggies seem to have a plastic/polyurethane scent. And, I'm not completely sure, but it seems to me that the tobacco may now have a slight plastic taste.
My question is, has anyone else ever had tobacco absorb scents,etc, from its surroundings, through zip lock baggies?

metalmilitia

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 14, 2013
I have had the baggies "absorb" the scent of theadjacent tobaccos. but it senna to be only the baggies and is especially pertinent with latakia blends. but it send to be only with the baggies and not the tobacco, and it seems to dissipate after a few days

bodubya

Lurker
Sep 16, 2013
Thank you for the quick replies.
rothnh, To be clear, you are saying that the tobacco begins to taste bad after the 1 week in baggies?
Also, I have ordered a case of ball 8oz wide mouth jars.
I hate to think that my collection is bad. It is a tragedy.

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012