PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

trucha

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 26, 2013
I have a question for seasoned pipe smokers. Since I have only been at this for alittle while, I have been trying every blend that I can get my hands on. I seem to like most of them. My question is that if you've been smoking for a while do you stick with one or two blends or are you always up for trying something different?

bigmick

Might Stick Around
Nov 1, 2012
I'm pretty new to pipes, only a few years in, but I have 3 or 4 blends that I try to keep always on hand. Outside of that I also try to add new tobaccos in my preferred styles to any order. Just to see if it's something I like more than my current favorites or just as a break from the usual. I figure I only have a few thousand more blends to try before I'm done.

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
I've been smoking pipes daily for about three years now. My two go-to smokes are Lane Limited's 1Q and Mac Baren's 7 Seas Regular Blend. I do have a few other bulk blends stored in jars that were eight ounces when I started out but have dwindled down over the months.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
I've been smoking a pipe for about 33 years now, and I'm still always open to trying new blends. Of course, I do have favorites that I always keep on hand -- I have over 80 different blends in the cellar that I know I really enjoy -- but I've almost always got an open tin of something new as well. Sometimes I like the kind of concentration that I feel new-to-me blends deserve; you know, those times when you're really focused on trying to figure out what's in a blend, how well it smokes in various pipes, how it changes -- or doesn't -- as you move down the bowl, what difference drying might make, and whether or not I'm actually enjoying it. Other times, I just want the comfort of a known friend.