PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fiawol

Lurker
Aug 16, 2013
I am new to this hobby. I have only been enjoying my pipe for about a month now and I definitely cannot brag about my bargain "Italy" pipe the man behind the counter offered me from a basket filled with other questionable pipes. I didn't mind because I was watching something special online. I bought a little cheapo tamper and scraper that looks like a nail, a bundle of cleaners, and a pouch of captain black gold. Once I was able to pack a descent bowl(a few days later) I was hooked. I continued to look forward to the pipe I was now bidding on. It was actually the seed that led me into this world. I am not quite sure about the details of how it happened but I know it started on Wikipedia, and it doesn't matter where you start on Wikipedia you always end up in a very strange place. I ended up learning about tobacco pipes, more specifically about a peculiar brand made out of composites from the 70's. That let me to an enthusiasts website all about "the pipe". I spent hours reading the history, and stories, looking at all the different shapes, and in the end I decided that I would own one. Good news is that they were mass produced and almost always on eBay. And that it's where I found one. A simple black bulldog, some chattering but really in fine shape. It was my first time ever bidding on eBay and using some advice I gleaned from the website I placed a generous bid confident that it wouldn't be outdone and then i quickly began to convince myself it was as good as mine. I began to look forward to its first cleaning, what special tobacco I would reserve for its very first light and I even decided to grow a beard to go with the new pipe(I don't really know why the last one but hey, why not). I'm sure you've guessed by now that I didn't win. I know there will be plenty more opportunities and I will be smarter about them, but this was my first let down and I just know that tom