Yesterday I Took Part in a Slow Smoke Contest and Now I'm Confused.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaboom

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 12, 2012
OK so yesterday I took part in my pipeclub's annual slow smoke competition being a total noob (I can hardly keep my pipe lit when smoking normally) and surprisingly, I didn't do half bad. I placed 12 out of 19 with a 40 minute time.
Now what I find confusing is this. We were given 3 grams of baccy and a pipe. It is my understanding that 3g generally last people right around those 40 minutes, yet I had to keep puffing and tamping fairly constantly to keep the thing lit, definitely much more often that the 2 or 3 seconds every ten to twenty seconds I've read about, almost continually really. When it went out I had smoked it almost to the bottom with a single light and prelight, a first for me.

Now people who are significantly more experienced and skilled than me (let's just say actually skilled and experienced) lasted a little less and most of them died out right around the 50 minute mark. I got a little bit of tonguenburn from smoking at that speed.

Should I take this as an indication that I'm smoking too quickly even if the tobacco is taking as long as it should to burn? Why do I have to keep puffing and tamping then?
This is the pipe we were given, a Stefano santabroglio, commissioned specifically for this event. It's a little heavy but I love the looks!
sw8wlc.jpg

24ypky9.jpg

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
Doesn't sound as though you did too bad. I'm guessing that you loaded a bit too loosely which caused a faster burn.
If you are going to compete you need to practice, practice, practice. Feel the burn! Not in the tobacco though.
I competed a couple of times and decided that it wasn't worth. The guys that were consistently at the top . . . made it an obsession. Wasn't my cup of tea.