PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

frennchy11

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 28, 2011
Anybody use one of these? I picked a couple up and sold one to a friend but haven't actually smoked one. Just wondering if I should bother restoring it.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Hey Frennchy11, it depends entirely on whether it is made of briar or (heaven forbid) Brylon.

The Yello-Bole pipes with Brylon bowls are notoriously hot smokers.

I have no personal knowledge of them.

I know them only by repudiation repitation.

:puffy:

harrier52

Can't Leave
Aug 7, 2011
The briar ones smoke well. My brother loves his. But Lawrence is right Brylon sucks pretty bad.

jaysin

Lifer
Feb 8, 2012
Indiana
Brylons are very light and shiny have a plastic feel to them. well you know why.....

As i seen it put on here if you can drive a nail with it its brylon.

I have 2 brylons yes they smoke hot but for what i paid 2 bucks each they make great fishing pipes lol drop em in the lake who cares.

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011
I recently purchased an antique Yellobole pipe. My impression was mixed: I smoked some of the new Edgeworth Ready Rub match in it to try it out. The draw was excellent, even though I left the stinger in place. I detected faint hints of honey, since some of the Yellobole coating remains inside. The bowl got HOT; I imagine that was due to the the thick coating of varnish on the outside (it predates Brylon by about 30 years). The yellow plastic bit was a little thicker than I like, and I like P-lips, so that's fairly thick. The tobacco smoke, however, was cool, and I was able to enjoy the flavor of it, reminded me a little of the old Edgeworth, and I only needed one relight midway through.