PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlaug

Part of the Furniture Now
May 23, 2010
Iowa
I love looking at picture of pipes, but I'm a horrible photographer. I'mI'm trying to improve my picture taking ability and I have been trying different kinds of lighting, background, background colors, groupings, and just about anything else one could think of to vary my pictures in an attempt to display a pipe in the most attractive presentation possible. Here some some results...trying to take some indoor pictures on a marble top wash stand. I'm looking for some helpful criticisms.
A Ben Wade Spiral.

BenWadeSpiralMedium.jpg

A Preben Holm Royal Grain

RoyalGrainMedium.jpg

A Preben Holm Handcut Sitter

PH1Medium.jpg

I'm not to crazy about the background. What would a concensus be? Darker or lighter for displaying pipe pictures?

Natural light better than indoor?

Flash or no?

Its disappointing to take a beautifully grained piece of briar and end up with the picture the wrong color from what it really is....I get that using natural light, but flash makes the pipe too shiny.
Look at the Royal Grain picture...The bowl part of the pic is a little out of focus. What is a good camera setting to use? I get too many out of focus shots using the macro setting and using manual gets me to far away from my subject.
Get in here with all your photo skill knowledge and help me out!

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
The pipes are beautiful. I have a Preben Holm and a Ben Wade. I love them both.

They are some great pipes as, I'm sure yours are.

I don't worry about back grounds when it comes to pipe pics.
But, if you are having difficulty...

Maybe you should have had the camera repaired after you took that "self portrait" for your Avatar....
Sorry. Just couldn't let the opportunity pass. :oops:

:D

chuckw

Oct 7, 2009
Shop for an inexpensive light box and lights. They work wonders with minimal props.