PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sidneyessex

Lurker
Sep 11, 2013
Hello I have a flogglewerks all wooden pipe it smokes great I'm new to smoking, I'm looking for a woodsy blend maby and English blend I don't know to compliment the woodsy taste of the pipe. Any suggestions? I'd prefer a blend with low bite and won't break my bank

rmason

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 27, 2013
Welcome to the forum first off. Now you want a woodsy blend then I would say something with Latakia in it, but you may not be ready for these blends since some will bite starters really quick, if your new to smoking I would start out with a blend like 1Q since it would be very uncommon for it to bite you, but if you want a woodsy type blend then the one that comes to mind for me is Sutliff's Blend No. 5, but like said before be warned that you could get bit with a heavy Latakia.

~Ron

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Welcome to the forums. Here's a list that some consider "woodsy". My preferences marked with asterisk:
Dunhill Standard Mixture

McClelland Frog Morton

Cornell & Diehl Haunted Bookshop*

Dunhill Nightcap

Cornell & Diehl #841: Sha'are Orah (Gates of Light)*

Hearth & Home LJ Heart Burley*

Rattray's Marlin Flake*

Mac Baren Symphony

G. L. Pease Quiet Nights

Two Friends Redwood*

Cornell & Diehl Bayou Morning*

Savinelli Special Tobacco*

4noggins Weybridge*

G. L. Pease Triple Play, & Cumberland*

rmason

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 27, 2013
Dang it, I was trying to remember Bayou Morning, Thanks Cortez.

~Ron

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Blends with Kentucky will probably have a woodsier taste than most. So if you're willing to take a shot in the dark,

look for tin descriptions that list it. Like Ron said above, Latakia and other dark fired leaf blends (McClelland Royal Cajun)

will have a campfire/woodsy taste, but they may not be for the beginner. No harm in trying them, though. If they don't