PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

corncobguy

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 3, 2012
So I have really been enjoying wine lately. Red wine to be specific zin,shiraz,merlot. I have always drank beer or scotch so I'm kinda new to the wine world. What kind of wine do you guys enjoy and what kind of reccomendations would you have.

Aug 1, 2012
I am a bit partial to a good port or Rhein-style wine but most, especially reds, are pretty...
eck15.gif

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
I like my merlot. Cabernet S. also. I think shiraz will be the new merlot soon. Really big then people shun it. My main recommendation is find good wines for cheap, it's something that can't be done the same with scotch really.

werdna

Can't Leave
Jun 6, 2013
Cabernet sauvignon, as mentioned above, is a good red with dinner, Merlot too. Don't ignore blended red wines, they are usually inexpensive, and very tasty. Aussie wines are coming down in price this year, and some labels are really good. Wine making has become a world wide business, and like tobacco, flavors change with region and vintage.

bullbriar

Can't Leave
Mar 6, 2013
I'm also a red wine guy. Malbec, merlot, cab, and shiraz are all great wine. Don't be afraid to try some wine on the lower end of the price spectrum, as I've found some great wine in the "9.99 or less section". One of my friends who is a doc and department chief at a local hospital, let's say he is very comfortable financially, he and I always challenge each other to fine decent wines under 9.99! Enjoy the search.

Perique

Lifer
Sep 20, 2011
www.tobaccoreviews.com
I'm a big fan of wine. Seems like a natural interest for those who appreciate fine pipe tobaccos. In fact I've often said that pipe tobacco is the wine of the tobacco world.