PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mithrys

Lurker
May 8, 2010
Hi, I have been smoking a tobacco pipe for a few years now, and started to wonder why I chose to smoke a pipe. I like the briar and meerschaum pipes and some of the designs of handcrafted pipes. In this sense the pipes are like works of art and make nice collectors items. I also like the “idea” of pipes, their history, and the people that have been associated with them, fictional and real. Pipe use typically requires a relaxing atmosphere and ample amount of time to really be appreciated, in my opinion.

They are initially expensive, and there are certainly easier ways to consume tobacco.
What about you, what got you interested?
thanks

jcsoldit

Lifer
Mar 27, 2010
Wisconsin
The smell of the tobacco burning... When I was a kid I just loved the smell of my Dad's pipe. One I tried it myself I discovered the taste to be to my liking. The day I discovered Captain Black I thought I had died and gone to tobacco heaven, you see I loved the flavor and girls loved the aroma. Now as an older man I really enjoy the time it takes to smoke and enjoy a pipe, the stress release I feel while smoking a bowl is worth whatever it cost me in time or money.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Ditto on JC's last couple of thoughts. But one of the most attractive features of pipe smoking

is the astounding variety of tobaccos available in this format.

Tobacum longa, vita brevis.

chuckw

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 7, 2009
Because after Herself quit smoking, I wasn't allowed to smoke cigars in the house anymore.

igloo

Lifer
Jan 17, 2010
woodlands tx
Now I like me some cigars but the ones I like get darn expensive .With a pipe you get a lot of flavors to choose from and a little baccy goes along way making for a economically viable habit . That is unless you get a case of PAD .

mithrys

Lurker
May 8, 2010
How about when you think back to what initiated an interest in pipes?