PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rottingcorpse

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 28, 2015
I'm looking to buy a traditional calabash, so I started reading a bit about calabash and meerschaum pipes. Meerschaum pipes apparently don't need rest between smokes, but calabash pipes do. Why is that so if the calabash pipe has a meerschaum bowl? Does it have something to do with the gourd or mahogany wood? By the way, is the traditional gourd better than mahogany wood?

elbert

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 10, 2015
I have zero firsthand experience, but my reading suggests that a gourd might be preferable to mahogany because A) it doesn't impart flavor and B) can be cleaned.
As for the rest period, I suspect that it has more to do with the interplay between the three materials (meer bowl, gourd/mahogany, cork fastener) than any single element in the pipe. You're dealing with three different heat-expansion rates, three different moisture absorbency rates, three different drying rates, three different responses to any cleaning effort...you get the idea. So it could be that most are just playing it safe.
On the other hand, I see users on this forum in past threads suggesting that once it's cooled and the bowl is wiped, it's ready to go.

rottingcorpse

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 28, 2015
Hi Elbert and Cortez,
Thank you both for your replies. My sources could have been wrong. I was planning to spend no more tan $200 on a calabash, but those within that price range are only mahogany. They look great, but I won't buy one if they need as much rest as a briar. I look forward to hearing yours reply, Cortez. Thank you.
By the way, I just ordered the Meerschaum Depot fish pipe from P&C!

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014