PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Which professions come to mind associated with pipe smoking? Here's my quick free-association

list: Professor, psychiatrist, farmer, writer, editor, detective, retiree, philosopher, wizard.
What have I missed?

Jan 8, 2013
I don't think there are any professions you can narrow down as pipe smoking professions. It is a hobby enjoyed by all kinds of men (and a few women) be they very rich or very poor. I believe it is one of those things that a prince and a pauper could sit down and relate together on.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
mso49, I think you hit most of the archetypes: I've been a college instructor, an editor, a writer. Aspire to be a wizard, but lack the talent. Maybe if I get a churchwarden?

simnettpratt

Lifer
Nov 21, 2011
I believe it is one of those things that a prince and a pauper could sit down and relate together on.
@Anthony: Couldn't agree more, and have said that myself. More on the pauper side myself, but if I was Lord of the Manor smoking Escudo out of my $5,000 Dunhill, I'd still happily share a bowl with a destitute smoking codger burley out of his one cob.
@mso: I have noticed an unusually large number of miltary, techs and musicians on this site though.

wnghanglow

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2012
I say with no delight that "hipsters" or people looking to scream how different they are also smoke a pipe quite poorly and very openly. Other than that I think you hit most of the stereotypical professions. As for church wardens I own one, when I smoke Aros I tend to puff to hard and the extra stem helps. Other than that it's mostly cobs, or a fancy briar, if I'm going somewhere ;)

tennsmoker

Lifer
Jul 2, 2010
One of my physician buddies smokes both pipes and cigars. So, add docs to the list.
Oh, and don't leave out the actors. I'm thinking Edward G. Robinson, of course. Hehehe.

mlyvers

Can't Leave
Sep 23, 2012