Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:   

Which Are the Best Missouri Meerschaum Cobs and Why?

(33 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM

I am by no means an expert on Cobs (I have two, probably older than some of you LOL) -- but which MM Cobs are best?

They all are relatively inexpensive, so choosing a preferred size is pretty easy to do, but a post I read today with someone buying a "mistake" (a mini-cob that's more of a toy than the real and practical short smoker he hoped for) got me to thinking about this.

I hear the current wood "cob" -- the Ozark -- is disliked by many. I just assumed this is largely because it isn't a real cob pipe and doesn't smoke like one. What's your take? I do hear MM is releasing a "better improved" wood pipe soon -- any updates on that pipe?

Some cobs have different shanks. Some are said to be better than the other(s). How do they compare? Which MMs have the best shanks and why?

Some cobs have different bowl bottoms. Many said to get only the hardwood bottoms. Which MMs have the best bowl bottoms and why?

The "natural" cobs are said to smoke cooler than the polished cobs. This makes sense, but when holding a natural, it feels unpleasant to me and somehow cheaper, definitely lighter. Thoughts?

About bowl size, I know many love their Generals. But these are a bit over the top for some and, to me, appear to be somewhat unwieldy. Opinions?

How long have you enjoyed your cobs? Which do model(s) do you prefer and why? Which MM is best and why?

I'm anxious to hear your opinions!

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. mikephillips

mikephillips

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM