PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
Sorry gents, it's not near as exciting as the title would suggest. I've been smoking a pipe for about three years now and have tried a sizable amount of tobaccos, and the thought occurred to me that there might be holes in my experience. So I'll attempt to list some highlights of my experience and ask you to kindly fill in the missing pieces.
Aromatics: Has plenty, most recently decided that I really like most cherry, maple, and rum aeros. Any must try's?
English: I've had quite a few English blends and for the sake of time will lump most Latakia blends here. I've had and really like (to name a few) Nightcap, Frog Morton (all of them), 965, EMP, Penzance, Pirate Cake, El Niño, Star of the East, Ten- Midnight, Plumb Pudding, Maltese Falcon.
VA/Per: Escudo, OGS, LBF, LNF, Bayou Morning, Anniversary Kake, and love them all. In fact I was on a Bayou Morning kick for quite sometime.
Burley: Haunted Bookshop, BLWB, Burley Flake #1, 3Ps, really enjoy them all especially haunted bookshop.
Dark fired: Firestorm and DSK are my main experiences here and I love them both.
Misc: had several ropes, quite a few lakelands, and I can take or leave all of those. Wasn't really impressed but not revolted either.
Just looking I don't think I've really ventured into straight VAs much. Anything else?

mayfair70

Lifer
Sep 14, 2015
You are way ahead of me, but I would highly recommend MacBaren HH Old Dark Fired and Warhorse in the dark fired department. Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake ain't no slouch either, so a good lead in to more Virginias. I like Orlik Golden Slice as well, grassy and citrus flavors it seems to be further down the continuum from FVF. I'll defer to the more experienced members in these matters. Good Luck!
Edit- We have the best avatars ever !! :)

hawky454

Lifer
Feb 11, 2016
Austin, TX