When your down to the last 25% in the bowl?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

2 Fresh Former Pipes
108 Fresh Brulor Pipes
24 Fresh Rossi Pipes
120 Fresh Peterson Pipes
36 Fresh Nørding Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigballdbenny

Lurker
Jun 16, 2015
Hey Everyone, Super Newbie here (been a pipe smoker for 10 days after 25 years of cigarettes).........I have been enjoying the pipe immensly, but I have been noticing that I haven't been enjoying the last fourth of the bowl as much! It tastes flat (for lack of a better term), and is often too hot to smoke. Do any of you veterans just dump that last bit and start fresh or do you smoke every last drop till you just can't light it no more? If you do smoke all of it, are there any tips you can give me?

seacaptain

Lifer
Apr 24, 2015
As another new guy, I just dump the last bit if it goes out. Re-lights with less than half a bowl usually don't taste that good anyway.

Mar 30, 2014
wv
I've only smoke a bowl down to a "fine white ash" a few times. If the last bit of a bowl turns sour just dump it.
Welcome to the forum. Don't worry, you'll have plenty more questions, burnt fingers, tongue bite, etc, before you get the hang of it.

Jan 4, 2015
Massachusetts
You're smoking for enjoyment. If the last quarter of the bowl doesn't agree with you dump it. If it's just to hot, slow down and sip instead of puff. The pipe won't get as hot. When tobacco gets hot it tends to loose its flavor. The two may be related so try a slower smoking cadence.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
It it's not tasty, dump it asap!
If you're concerned about how hot it gets towards the end, dry the tobacco a bit more before loading, and don't blow torch it on re-light.

wilson

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2013