PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stflorian

Might Stick Around
Jan 16, 2015
When does it become relaxing? I have been asking myself for the off and on 2 years I have been smoking a pipe. Yet I still have the vast majority of the same problems such as pipe going out with or without tamping, tongue bite on relights, condensation/wet bowl upon relights. 10+ relights with a 1/3 or half bowl, but I get tired of trying because I get nothing by hot smoke and it takes 30-60 minutes to smoke a half bowl (bowl size being .7x1.2. Even with 1/3 or half bowls I get at least half of the bowl as dottle unless I smoke an english. In which case I then have to stir and mix the ash with unburned tobacco to get it to burn after so long. I have tried smoking gravity filled with no resistance, to pretty tight and milkshake like resistance. Nothing changes. So far my fav tobacco is 1Q, but as soon as I light it I get condensation in the bowl which can be seen up to the tobacco line.

seadogontheland

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 4, 2014
I agree, sounds like the tobacco is too wet. Aromatics like the Lane are notorious for being too wet.

It could also be your initial light. Focus on getting the tobacco lit well across the entire top surface first and see if this helps. If you want to PM me with specific questions, feel free.

Jun 4, 2014
Are you drying your tobacco prior to smoking it? That can help a lot with excess moisture. Look at some of the videos on packing, try one of the different packing methods.

sallow

Lifer
Jun 30, 2013
Here are some suggestions.
Try a different tobacco, or a different pipe, perhaps both.
Don't stir. Ideally you want a layer of ash over the smouldering tobacco. Dump some ash if it won't light.
Tamp the ash down lightly after the pipe goes out, before relighting.
Keep the flame over the bowl not in it when relighting. Small sips.