PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 30, 2014
wv
This is for the estate resto pros.

What is your tips and tricks to get that black glass shine on an estate stem?

Here is my process. It's a lil slow, but looks great.

1. Alcohol soak and scrub.

2. Oxyclean.

3. Wetsand 2000 grit.

4. Wax & buff.

5. Enjoy.

tppytel

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 23, 2014
I'm not a pro, but I've been cleaning up my stems recently after a long period of neglect. I find the following works well for me...
1) Bristle cleaner with alcohol to clean out the inside. Wipe off dirt, dust, or other crud on the outside with water or Goo Gone.

2) Oxyclean

3) Mr.Clean Magic Eraser

4) MicroMesh, 1500-1800-2400-2800-3200-3600-4000

5) Buff

6) Obsidian Stem Oil
My goal is to require as little work with the buffer as possible, because it's easy to accidentally round off edges or otherwise overdo it. In fact, I'm happy to skip the buffing step entirely on my own pipes, which are just going to get smoked and handled again immediately anyway. But for pipes I would gift or resell, I'd buff and probably go a couple steps further with the MicroMesh as well.

tobyducote

Lifer
Jun 10, 2012
New Orleans
1. Brush with soft bristle tooth brush and regular Colgate toothpaste.

2. Oxyclean

3. Mr Clean Magic Eraser

4. Brown Tripoli on buffer

5. White Diamond on buffer

6. Final hand polish with soft fluffy finishing cloth
I only sand and use MicrMesh pads if I need to remove teeth marks

owen

Part of the Furniture Now
May 28, 2014
Stems in with two steradent denture tablets soaked overnight.

Watch out as its suprising how much stem gets buffed away and out of shape where it joins the briar as well as wearing off the logos

apiperisdown

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 28, 2014
Very timely info. Gentlemen. Thank you all and thanks to danielplainview for bringing it up.

torque

Can't Leave
May 21, 2013
Mine;