PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

doctorthoss

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 6, 2011
My question is: What is you best smoking briar? Not the most expensive, most visually appealing, most collectible, etc. I'm interested only in those pieces of briar that surpass all others in their smoking qualities. I'm especially curious about whether our answers shed any light on that tired old question about whether cheap pipes smoke as well as high-end artisan briars.
This question occurred to me today because I'm bidding on a Dr. Grabow Collector 2003. I seem to be the only bidder on it thus far, which I find a little surprising. I've been smoking pipes for over two decades now and have smoked Dunhills, Ardors, Savenellis, Stanwell, Boswells, Petersons, Nordings, and a whole slew of cheaper brands. I lean strongly toward the side of the argument that the cheaper pipes often smoke as good or better than the more expensive ones. For instance, I think I might be the only guy in American who actually collects Gatlinburlier house pipes from the 80s and 90s. Why? They are AWESOME smokers. But, curiously enough, the best line of briars I've ever encountered were the Grabow Collector series from 2002 (straight stem) and 2003 (bent stem). For some bizarre reason, this line of Grabows -- and only this line -- had something really special going for it. They are black sandblasts with brass bands around the stems, and the only explanation I can come up with is that the batch of briar used for them was exceptionally good. They break in quickly and bring out the absolute best smokes from most types of tobacco. Only Vas and Va/Pers don't seem to smoke well in them. English, Balkan, burleys, Lakelands/aros -- all do crazy well in them. Inexplicable? Probably.
So, anyhow, what are your experiences with this question?
Also, here's a link to one of the Grabows I'm talking about. if anyone knows anything about this line, let me know!