PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lightmybriar

Lifer
Mar 11, 2014
I always figured it was to help with condensation. I think the metal attracts the moisture due to temperature change and takes it out of the smoke in order to make a dryer smoking experience. I'm no expert, though!

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Lightmybriar, that's exactly what they're for. During the 1920's and 1930's there was an arms race to design and patent the perfect stinger.

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Some are very easy to remove, other are integral to keeping the pipe together and others are glued into the stem and next to impossible to remove. It's just depends on the pipe and maker.

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Aldecaker and Pitchfork, my older Kaywoodies (1924-1938) and Sasieni One-Dot have a stinger that doesn't impede anything. Yes, cleaning takes a second or two more, but no too bad. The kaywoodies and Comoy that were produced from roughly the 50's on have stingers that are real shit-shows.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
Yeah, my one Kaywoodie (a really pretty Matched Grain apple) was from late 40s or 50s and had a fairly restricted draw. It's really too bad that Kaywoodie used integral stingers during their heyday, because the quality of their pipes was otherwise pretty good. Great briar in many cases -- much better than Dunhill, for instance.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013