Tags:  No tags yet. 

What Was Your First Time Like?

(36 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by scrumpyjack
  • Latest reply from renfield
  1. scrumpyjack

scrumpyjack

Login to Send PM

With all this talk about McClelland, I got to thinking about my first time. I have been smoking a pipe for about 12 years. I can remember as I explored different blends I was steered toward the Frog. That was my first experience with McClelland and I was blown away. On the Town has a strong presence in my cellar as well as several different years of Cheer. What was your first McClelland blend and is it still in your rotation?

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. jpmcwjr

jpmcwjr

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

We were but teenagers; She was nervous, and so was I, as we had never gone all the way to the tobacco store together. I loaded up a bowl of Christmas Cheer and thought that Virginias are quite tolerable.

Yes, still have some tins but not exactly in a rotation. Nor is she.

I know that you believe you understood what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. hawky454

hawky454

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

3 Oaks Syrian turned me into a serious pipe smoker, that stuff just blew my mind when I first started piping. Over the years my tastes have changed quite drastically but I still have one more tin in my cellar, saving it for a rainy day.

Posted 1 year ago #
  4. hoosierpipeguy

hoosierpipeguy

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I think Frog Morton was my first experience with McClelland and it was quite pleasant. I think Dark Star was my second. I was very much a novice at the time, didn't dry it, thought it tasted wonderful up to the point I fried the majority of my tongue. Thankfully, the tongue healed and it didn't deter me from enjoying thousands of bowls of McClelland Virginias since that first experience.

Posted 1 year ago #
  5. midwestpipesmoker70

midwestpipesmoker70

Login to Send PM