PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjm1

Might Stick Around
Sep 4, 2014
I am a newbie that goofed up with storing tobacco... About 3 months ago I bought a lot of bulk tobacco, maybe 8-12 different ones averaging about 8 ounces each.I kept most of it in their original plastic bags, and then put these in a larger 'air tight seal' plastic container. At some point I read about storing tobacco in jars so moved some of the stuff (taken out of the bags) into some empty spaghetti sauce jars and set those aside. On average I have only smoked a few bowls a week from tobacco that has been kept in plastic container. The last 3 smokes, two different Cornell Diehl's and 1Q, have lost their flavor. They still taste like tobacco, but the Berry Good is missing it's Berries (on a side note the Cornell stuff still tastes like better tobacco).
So to get to the point I am wondering if this stuff can be redeemed. I am living in Asia right now and having stuff shipped here is not cheap; hoping that this stuff does not end up in the trash. In the future I should jar stuff pretty quickly. Mason jars have been mentioned often on this board but those are not here, so hoping others will seal well enough. Or, maybe tins should be bought instead. Any other thoughts? Thanks in advance. Really enjoy lurking here.

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
Losing the flavor you mention isn't a big deal. Smoke what you have. It will help you learn to like a plainer blend and may burn better/cooler.

jjm1

Might Stick Around
Sep 4, 2014
oK. Redid the math, and had less than what I thought. Good lesson learned though.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Another thing to consider is getting jars with lids that seal. You can pick them up in any supermarket. Those will keep your tobaccos fresher longer.

griffonwing

Can't Leave
Nov 12, 2014
Omaha AR
I will assume the jar has a one-piece metal lid, such as most pickle jars.