PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 18, 2016
Greetings to everyone here!
I am fairly new to the pipe smoking hobby but I am totally hooked. I used to smoke cigars and switched over, at first so that I could smoke nice tobacco everyday and not spend alot of money on it.
I come from and live in Iceland and we only have one tobacoonist here, and getting cigars here is not that hard, but I think we have only the following brands of pipe tobacco here in Iceland - Half and Half, Skandinavik, Sweet Dublin Irish Whiskey, Mac Baren Original Choice, Mac Baren Virginia No. 1, Mac Baren Mixture and Sunday's Fantasy. That's it!
I have only been smoking pipe for a few months and have so far smoked Sweet Dublin, Mac Baren Original Choice and Sunday's Fantasy from the tobacco we have here in Iceland and it was nice but I still wasn't really getting the oomph (if you know what I mean). Then I went to Denmark and ofcourse checked out The Danish Pipe Shop and Davidoff - My Own Blend at Pilestræde. There I bought 100 gram tins of My Own Blends Jutlandia and No. 40. Those blends were alot closer to what I had been looking for, really nice tobacco and I enjoy them alot.
But then I have been reading alot about alot of tobacco blends, types and mixtures as you're all familiar with. And I figured I had yet to try any English Blends. I was going to buy an English in Denmark but they guys showed me some really pungent blends so I wasn't really up for it haha! Still there was something great about the smells but offputting at the same time! But when I got back I decided that I only live once, decided to go "all in" and ordered a tin of Dunhill's Nightcap for my first English Blend. Oh boy!