PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Near Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I'm doing a little refresh on this Brigham I got. I've never done anything like this before. But anyways, as I was cleaning the stem, which I thought was one part I found out it's not. It doesn't look like a stinger, could it be some sort of filter? It's brown and dirty, so is it just a dirty filter?
:puffpipe:
a46Mb5s.jpg

CbcVhY7.jpg

GuPCcmh.jpg

saltedplug

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Same as a stinger, but perhaps the removable piece is designed to be the lightning rod for the deposit of the resins in the smoke?

meatballj

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 14, 2014
New Brunswick, Canada
Yep, its a filter. Brigham's maple wood filter, and by the looks of it due for a change. I use them on a Brigham Pipe of the Year churchwarden I have that's set aside for aromatics. Keeps the moisture down and helps in avoiding tongue-bite.

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Well there you have it.
Thanks - I'm sure my local shop stocks them. Yes it will need to be changed, I don't know how old the pipe is but it's probably original. Some of the pipes I got from the same estate were pretty grimey.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I've seen them described as their "rock maple insert." Some people use them and recommend them. I believe you can wash and re-use them. I get tired of too many different permutations on the filter, stinger, balsa insert, etc. etc., but I think the pipes perform well enough if you just take them out. I like the straightforward look of Brighams, but have avoided them for just this reason. Brigham was for a long time one of the largest pipe makers in Canada, although now I believe they have moved to Italy.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion