What is that gray coating inside a new pipe bowl?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

2 Fresh Former Pipes
48 Fresh Savinelli Pipes
36 Fresh Estate Pipes
12 Fresh Moonshine Pipes
4 Fresh Scott Thile Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

nubificus

Lurker
Mar 30, 2014
SoCal
I am relatively new to pipe smoking, so please bear with me. One fool can ask more questions in an hour than ten wise men would answer in a year. So, I recently bought on eBay a cheapish but funny looking briar pipe (here is a link to the page, while it lasts). The pipe is new unsmoked. What got me worried is that the inside of the bowl is lined with some type of dark grey (or, better put, steel-colored) coating. You can probably see the color on the right-most photograph on the auction page, a view from the top. Briar pipes that I bought before had just their wooden surface exposed inside. The coating actually looks like film, or maybe thick paint, and it partially covered the draft hole. I even had to poke it through to get the hole completely uncovered.
Has anyone seen such a thing before? I am a bit wary of getting vapors of that into my mouth. I though I would rather scrape it clean, but I would like to ask forum's opinion first.

anglesey

Can't Leave
Jan 15, 2014
It's called carbonisation. It's basically a carbon based lining so you supposedly don't have to 'break it in' the same way you might with a bare bowl. It's harmless, and can help quite a lot if youre a new smoker. Probably just a bit of a production error if it blocked the hole.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
A well made pipe might have a bowl coating that helps break in the pipe. This coating is non-toxic and it WON'T cover the draft hole.
I'm not familiar with your pipe though. From the grain it does NOT look like briar; perhaps olive wood, perhaps something else. Be careful.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013