What Does Exactly "Taste of the Tobacco" Mean???

SmokingPipes.com Updates

12 Fresh Chacom Pipes
60 Fresh Neerup Pipes
36 Fresh Brigham Pipes
96 Fresh Peterson Pipes
12 Fresh BriarWorks Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

jason64

Might Stick Around
Dec 12, 2012
Hi folks,
As you may figured from my relatively dumb question, I am kind of new to pipe smoking. I have tried different aromatic blends like CH, BCA, Melange, CB white, Q1 etc. I dont get any taste in my mouth, the only thing I get is when I puff out and the small of that goes to my nose. Is this normal? I am not sure thats what everybody means by tasting different blends and tobaccos.
Thanks

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
You're snorking (retro-haling) either accidentally or on purpose. That's one way to get better flavours, according to some.
It takes time for your tongue to start getting the flavours from tobacco. Be patient.
It took me several weeks to finally get a nutty flavour from 1-Q.

workman

Lifer
Jan 5, 2018
The Faroe Islands
I get some flavors on the tongue, some on the retrohale and aromas through the nose.

When I smoke, I don't think about or try to pick out differences between these sensations. They meld into an overall flavor/aroma experience.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
your tongue sbould taste some sweetness if there's va in the mixture. perique should be peppery, but different from bite and burn. aromatics i smoked usually had sweet taste i could pick up on tongue.