Tags:   

What do You Look for in an Estate Pipe?

(23 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by hittelusedpipes
  • Latest reply from ssjones
  1. hittelusedpipes

hittelusedpipes

Login to Send PM

Hi all, I am new here and I just had a few questions. I have been charged with selling my grandfather's collection of pipes that he has collected over roughly 40 or so years, and while I have started researching the subject I am still very new to smoking pipes in general, and would like some tips on what people are looking for when buying an estate pipe.

I looked around online, and I couldn't find anything specific on the subject, and this looked like the best place to start. When you are looking for a pipe (eBay for example) are you looking for something that been restored, something with character, handcrafted, or otherwise? I have only received a few handfuls of pipes to start with, but some of them look to be in pretty bad condition (the stems especially) so I am curious as to whether or not people prefer to clean their pipes themselves, or if you actively look for pipes that have been cleaned/restored?

What kind of information should I be including when trying to sell an estate pipe? I assume I should know the brand, and size of the pipe, but as they were not collected by me I'd be without information in regards to age. How is the "style" of the pipe determined, and how would I go about finding out the brand of unmarked pipes, or are they simple sold as "unmarked"?

I am eager to learn more about the process involved, and about estate pipes in general, as it has been a part of my family history so any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. tbradsim1

tbradsim1

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Contact Pipestud with a list of the names and go from there. The old cajun

The Old Cajun
    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. numbersix

numbersix

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Welcome hittelusedpipes.