PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chalbach72

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 27, 2014
United States
halbachphoto.com
I know this has been posted on many times, but I don't feel like digging up an older topic.
So, I just want to know what brought you to the hobby, and why you stick with it!
For me, it was a 1 1/2 years ago, in September 2014. My buddies had picked up pipes from their dads, and they were going to smoke. As a new college student, I had always been interested in pipes by the way they smell, and after researching it, I decided to join them one day. Just smoked a cheap wall pipe with a cherry blend made by our B&M. To be honest, I hated the blend (as I didn't really know what I was doing) and struggled to keep the darned pipe lit. However, my friend had his lit with Cherokee, our B&M's renowned blend (Country Squire MS) since the 70's. I loved the flavor from that tobacco and also just enjoyed the company found around a pipe.
To this day, I've grown excessively in my knowledge about pipes and the various tobaccos used in this interesting hobby, and I still smoke with my dear friends. I find it is a hobby of companionship, relaxation, and contemplation, and for that reason, I will always keep my pipe lit :)
So what's your story?

lasttango

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 29, 2012
Wilmington, De / Ithaca, NY
People just kept telling me that I should smoke a pipe. My typical work attire consists of an oxford, blazer and scarf... so folks were always saying: "you should smoke a pipe."
I guess I had that ragged professor look.
I had quit smoking cigarettes for a few years and I was vaping. My pop and grandfather smoked a pipe. It was destiny.
I got a bent billiard and the rest was history!

coffinmaker

Can't Leave
Jan 20, 2016