Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
I'm no chef, I'm just a carpenter, but I love to cook. Italian, Chinese, BBQ, Creole ...you name it. But I really love Mexican food, cooking it and eating it. I have some very good friends, who are Spanish, that I've picked up some tricks from over the years, and I'm pretty proud of the Mexican dishes I make.

Now there's a guy in town that has a 50's style Burger place (a really good one) and has decided to open a "taco truck" style Mexican joint, and asked my wife if id be willing to share my recipes with him. If a friend wants a gumbo or arroz con pollo recipe, I've got it...but this guys gonna make money with my variations of some traditional tacos and enchiladas and a few other things, including sauce..

I ain't fixing to come off that for free :crazy: not even sure I want someone selling my dishes.

now this may sound silly to some of you but I know there's a few out there who will understand..what's your favorite recipes worth. Would you sell them?

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
I wouldn't sell them to friends or family, but if someone is going use them, I might ask that they change it in some way to make their own OR I'd have to do something similar to what you're doing...
-Jason

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
Well see that's the one difference Dave, what he wants are like grandmas or even moms. There mine. I'm not sure I want them being mass produced like this, even on a small scale, but I'm definitely not just gonna hand over to someone I don't even know for him to make money with..but I don't know what number,if there even is a number, will make me feel good about it.

my wife is telling me I'm wrong because I'm not making a living with them.

sixmp

Can't Leave
Jan 19, 2012
Couldn't you just give him a few tips towards a recipe he already knows without giving away whats exactly in yours?
Like a push in the right direction?