PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
I'm rather new to pipe smoking. Every so often I read about a Lakeland blend or see it talked about in terms of a style. I'd love some insite into this. Thanks!

texmexpipe

Oct 20, 2014
Thanks for the help! I'm not too sure I want something that taste like soap, but I think I may try it sometime. I'm always game to try something once. Any suggestions as to a good starting place?

sallow

Lifer
Jun 30, 2013
I love lakelands and smoke them regularly.
I would suggest gawith and Hoggarth rum flake or Kendal flake. They are a very old Fashioned style of pipe tobacco made in the Lakeland district of England. I feel lucky to have them still available.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Lakeland tobaccos are often mentioned for "ghosting" pipes, which is leaving behind their flavor in a persistent way

that makes every other blend smoked in the pipe taste odd, and this supposedly doesn't fade for a long, long time.

Hence, people who enjoy Lakeland blends designate specific pipes for smoking them. I think the flake version is

supposed to not have this characteristic and is therefore preferred by some people as the only Lakeland blend they'll

smoke. As a footnote, Lakeland refers to what is more usually known as the Lake District, which is in Northwest

England and is known for its many scenic lakes, its heavy rainfall, its fabulous greenery, and it many well-used

hiking trails (everyone packs a rain slicker). It is among the most beautiful parts of England, and if you hike there,

you meet a lot of free roaming sheep herds that are somehow tracked and sheared regularly by their owners. There

is a lot of history there. The poet William Wordsworth, a sister, his wife, and his friend Coleridge were a sort of set

that lived there and wrote about the area. In the summer, the sun doesn't set until about ten o'clock at night, when