PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshhallahan

Lurker
Feb 24, 2014
Hi,
I'm pretty new to smoking.. About a month now. I recently watched a how to clean your pipe here. After following the steps and cleaning the pipe with some Brandy my smokes seemed to be quite "wet" like a liquid dampness in the smoke coming out... I let the pipe sit for about a day before smoking again..is it possible that using brandy got the pipe too wet?
I haven't had a problem before I cleaned with packing too tightly or really having a liquid build up in the bowl.. this seems to be coming from the stem..
Any help or advice is appreciated!
Thanks!

anglesey

Can't Leave
Jan 15, 2014
I wouldn't dismiss it. A pipecleaner should suffice, I NEVER bother cleaning with alcohol unless the pipes otherwise irrecoverably filthy. There will be others who disagree with me here, but I believe using alcohol in cleaning will damage the pipe, and should only be used as a last resort.
Keep smoking it, and using a pipe cleaner after you smoke, or even running one down the stem during a bowl if it's terribly damp, but don't bother using alcohol again unless the pipe becomes physically unsmokable.
In addition, brandy has a much lower alcohol to water content than say, vodka, and the 20% odd ABV you'll get from brandy will only harm the pipe in my opinion. If you're going to use alcohol, use as strong and neutral tasting as you can get. I.e, high proof vodka or such.

rcstan

Lifer
Mar 7, 2012
Sunset Beach NC
+1 on using alcohol sparringly inside the bowl. In the long run, you will ruin the briar's natural absorbing qualities and the pipe will become "bogged".
The stem will see alcohol on the inside a bit more often, like every month or so, but then I run a pipe cleaner through after each smoke, and sometimes before a smoke too.