PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanlaurel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 31, 2015
I have been studying the thread where posters are listing their "top 5 flake" tobaccos. As a novice, I am surprised that so many of you are listing flakes with flavoring added.
I have no experience to speak of but I was sort of envisioning myself as a "purist" who would only smoke straight tobacco. But now I am getting curious about all these flavored flakes that are getting brought up.
Can the veterans please clarify what makes a flavor-added flake different from an aromatic? Will these ghost my pipes?

freakiefrog

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 26, 2012
Mississippi
To my mind a VA flake with added flavor is different because the flavor is added to enhance the flavor of the tobacco where as Aromatics are flavored so heavily as cover the most of the tobacco flavor and only taste like what the casing or topping is.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
Can the veterans please clarify what makes a flavor-added flake different from an aromatic?
Here's my take on that:
If the flavoring is added in enough quantity to dominate the smoke, it's an aromatic.
Here's an example ... Erinmore Flake. A nice quality flake but the flavoring is right up front in smell and taste

and would be considered an aromatic.
Then, there's something like Virginia #1 (broken flake). While there is a slight sweetness, most likely a little honey, the

overall flavor is pure Virginia tobacco and thus would fall under non-aromatic.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
I believe all of my flakes in my cellar have some type of flavoring added, even the ones that are allegedly straight Virginia Flakes such as Capstan Blue Flake, Dunhill Flake, John Aylesbury Luxury Flake, Wessex Campaign Brigade Dark Flake, Astleys no 109 and no 44, Fribourg & Tryer Cut Virginia Plug, SG Best Brown and FVF and others.