PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shaintiques

Lifer
Jul 13, 2011
Georgia
Was going through some of my old stuff and came across a couple packs of these. Found it interesting because it mentions pipe smokers and the guy in the pic has a pipe. And seeing the pic I know it would be sacriligious to put these into the hands of a pipe smoker, but still thought they might be of interest.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana
Aw the jokes we played on each other in the old days. Story time, after coming out the Navy I was a Relief Operator at a Carbom Black plant. Old man I was work

King with was a pipe smoker, nasty slobbering pipe smoker. One night I was eating my sandwich and had to go off the Control platform to check something out, laid my sandwich down, when I came back he was gone with his vile pipe inches from my sandwich. Now cats were abundant because we fed them, I grabbed one, took the pipe and shoved the stem up its ass tickling his nose. Layed it down, old man finally came back and put the pipe in his mouth, slobbering and went on never once thinking anything was wrong. Sometimes you can't win for trying. :PS Nothing wrong with pipe smoking just don't be a Slob. :laughat:

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Sorry, if a Dunhill hit the floor over a prank match, I would hit the floor laughing. Never liked those things.

huntertrw

Lifer
Jul 23, 2014
The Lower Forty of Hill Country
shaintiques:
Exploding matches were just a part of the stock and trade of Detroit, Michigan's Johnson Smith & Company, as is evidenced by this page from their catalog No. 148 of 1938. Into at least the late 1960s the back page of most American comic books also featured a selection of their more popular novelties including joy buzzers, onion gum, dribble glasses, whoopee cushions, X-ray vision spectacles, and fake ice-cubes with plastic bugs inside.
f04n9.jpg

Chasing Embers