PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

thereader19

Lurker
May 30, 2017
Hi I'm very new to smoking a pipe. I've had moontrance by cao and 1 Q anyone have any suggestions for something to try? Also I was using a corn cob and poked a hole in the bottom when I was emptying it. Is there a way to fix it or should I just buy a new pipe?

Thanks

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
If the cob is a Missouri Meerschaum, I'd try repairing it with glue and pipe mud (ash and water) to insulate the bottom. If it's an el cheapo, just start over with an MM cob. There's a world of blends out there. Two of my favorites are Iwan Ries Three Star Blue and Edward G. Robinson, both aromatics. If you want to try non-aromatic, go with something mild.

oldmansmoking

Part of the Furniture Now
May 13, 2017
UK
Do what I do glue a coin to the bottom of the outside of the corncob, I use apogsy glue. This acts as a solid base. I do it on all corncobs that don't have a hardwood plug.

oldmansmoking

May 13, 2017
UK
img_0033-600x450.jpg

Jan 8, 2013
Is there a way to fix it or should I just buy a new pipe?
Missouri Meerschaum or not... it's a cob, they're very affordable, just get a new one. As far as tobaccos to try... you're going to get a hundred or more different answers on that question. I'll suggest Lane BCA (it's a straight black cavendish aromatic) and I'll suggest Sutliff's Molto Dulce. If you want to move away from another aromatic and prehaps toward a crossover blend, try Kramer's Blend for Cary Grant. I'd call it a light aromatic english blend. I'm very fond of it.

deathmetal

Lifer
Jul 21, 2015
Infallible glue for busted cobs:
1. Ground bones of cremated heroes.

2. Blood of virgins.

3. Drool of an Asian elephant.

4. Ash of a cigar.

5. A tablespoon of fine table wine.

thereader19

Lurker
May 30, 2017