Pipes Magazine » Pipe Tobacco Discussion

Tags:  No tags yet. 

Very Frustrated

(6 posts)
  1. piperl12

piperl12

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I have been chasing a flavour now for many years. It would be nice if I could give you a point of comparison but I can't. I have gotten whiffs of the smell, or taste that I am searching for in a tobacco called Black Cordial. Someone said it might be Cherry I was after. So I went out last week before I left on my trip and bought a pouch of Brigham Black Cherry and alas it was not the cherry flavour I was looking for. Nearest I could describe it smells rich and just a hint of spicy, but in a good way like a nutmeg. I wish I could better describe it. I remember the scent from my childhood when more people smoked pipes so my next step is to check out some of the old codger blends and see if that helps. Any blenders out there that might be able to assist I am open to suggestions.

Posted 5 years ago #
  2. blueeyedogre

blueeyedogre

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

MIXTURE NO. 79?

"Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong." - Corinthians 16:13
    "Let us be English or let us be French . . . and above all let us be Canadians." – Sir John A MacDonald
    "The world was to me a secret which I desired to divine." - Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
    Posted 5 years ago #
  3. pipebow88

pipebow88

Login to Send PM

In my opinion, the problem is you are chasing a flavor from a smell you remember. That was the problem with aromatics for me, they smell great for everyone else, but the taste is far from the smell. finding a tobacco that tastes like a scent you remember I would say is edging on impossible.
    B

Posted 5 years ago #
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM