PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fnord

Lifer
Dec 28, 2011
Topeka, KS
Like everybody else, I'm concerned about rising taxes on U.S. tobaccos and am doing my level best to lay in 1 to 2 lbs. a month for the dark days ahead.
I'm an English guy. But age has taught me that things do change. Sure, I've been drinking the same brand of Bourbon for over thirty years but I do know that tastes change. (In ten years Nightcap and Larry's Blend might not hold the allure they do today.)
On that note, would you please share your opinion(s) of H&H's "Rolandos's Own" and "AJ's VaPer?"
Aside from the fresh and vintage samples of Escudo, a fellow memeber shared with me recently, I know dick about Virginias and I want to find some stuff I can start laying down, every fourth buy, on the come.
P&C, at this time, seem to have the best prices for quality tobacco but I'm still buying a pig in a poke.
Your thoughts?
Fnord

briarben

Lurker
Mar 28, 2013
I have been wondering about Rolando's Own myself. Other than it I haven't had any experience with VaPers. Is it a good representation?

billbearcat

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 3, 2011
I just got done with a couple of tins of AJ's VaPer. I am not a "Tobacco Reviewer" and mostly smoke VaPer's these days. I enjoyed this tobacco. It had plenty of nicotine for me. It was definitely on the far side of the perique peppery scale. I don't want to say it was too peppery for me but pretty close. I did not get any of the sweet taste from the Virginias in this blend. With that said I would buy it again.

rogermugs

Might Stick Around
Mar 10, 2013
While PS bullseye gets great reviews I really dislike it. PS Luxury Navy is good and cheap but not best of the bunch. Astleys 109 got me in to Virginias and its still one of my favorite. But for my money nothing beats Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake.