PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

zanthal

Lifer
Dec 3, 2011
Pleasanton, CA
I've never smoked an individual pipe hot enough or enough times to cause it any real damage. So I've got no practical experience to draw upon here.
Aside from the very obvious things like huge burn outs in the bowl or cracks in the stem, what are other signs that a pipe was either poorly cared for or is otherwise going down hill?
I'm mainly talking briar here, but I'm all ears with whatever you've got.

romeowood

Lifer
Jan 1, 2011
The Interwebs
Well that's a minefield. Many things can't be seen in a picture, but to share my own horror stories of eBaying:

I've had stems that were "shined up" with shoe polish. Yes, the thick, nasty, black shoe polish.

I've had bowls that were "cleaned and deodorized" with perfume. God-awful old lady perfume. Think Avon, circa 1970.

I've had pipes that were painted with enamel to cover up the discoloration from tar.

I've gotten stems that were superglued into the shanks.

And last but not least, I've had a few switcheroos--wrong stems on inferior bowls.
So basically, it's caveat emptor when buying from an auction site. I've learned to establish a dialogue with the seller for any pipe over a few bucks that I may have questions about, and ask as many questions as possible, even requesting more pictures via email if they'll oblige. There are a few very reputable consignors that I have no second thoughts about ordering from--Marty Pulvers, CoopersArk and PipeStud top that list. Other than that, go with your gut and your wallet (and it never hurts to pray).

Nov 14, 2009
Flowery Branch, GA