Pipes Magazine » Pipe Tobacco Discussion

Tags:   

Understanding Virginias With OGS

(26 posts)
  1. pipefish

pipefish

Login to Send PM

I am still quite new to VA tobaccos because I tend to like over the top latakia flavors like Nightcap. I enjoy Dunhill Flake but recently I tried Orlik Golden Sliced and find myself smoking 2-3 bowls a day of this stuff and I'm usually a one bowl/day smoker. I find it easy to light, easy to smoke, no tongue bite, and plenty of flavor with a spicy note that I really enjoy (not sure if that's perique or burley, but it's darn good). Even the War Dept. said the smell is "not bad" which is a massive complement coming from her.

But since I'm still sort of new to VAs, is this what top quality VA should be? Or is OGS an undergraduate math course, with other specialty VAs like McClelland the equivalent of Matrix Theory? The price is certainly reasonable and it doesn't look like it's going away soon...RIGHT????

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. cigrmaster

cigrmaster

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

OGS is a great starting place for VA flakes, very approachable and easy to smoke. OGS transforms itself with 10 plus years of aging. The grassy and hey like notes are replaced with raisin and fig like flavors.

For some different VA flavors you might want to try the following:
    Wessex Brigade Campaign Dark Flake
    Wessex Brown Virginia Flake
    Capstan Blue Flake
    Samuel Gawith Best Brown and Full Virginia flakes.
    Astleys no 109 Medium flake and no 44 Dark Flake
    John Aylesbury Classic Flake ( used to be called Luxury Flake)

Some can be difficult to find but worth the effort in my opinion. For some reason there have been shortages on many of these flakes and I am not sure why. Peck and I have been done buying any of these years ago.

Harris
    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. johnsteam86

johnsteam86

Login to Send PM